NRLW Dragons sign Olympic gold medalist

Eric

Staff
Olympic sevens gold medallist Emma Tonegato will return to rugby league after signing with St George Illawarra's NRLW team.
The 26-year-old left the code after playing for the Jillaroos in the 2013 Rugby League World Cup win to explore opportunities in rugby union.
She won gold in rugby sevens at the 2016 Games in Rio and claimed silver two years later at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.
Tonegato was part of the Australian squad for Tokyo earlier this year before quitting the set-up to seal a move to the Dragons on Monday.
"I'm super excited to be a part of the Dragons, it's a great club and has a strong history in Wollongong," she said.
"My career started in rugby league here in Wollongong, I played for the Helensburgh Tiger Lillies and ended up being selected for the Jillaroos from there.
"I've always wanted to see how I'd go playing in the NRLW especially since it wasn't around when I started playing.
"I'm looking forward to seeing how I stack up against the other girls."
Tonegato will likely play on the wing or at fullback for the Dragons - who will be coached by NRL premiership winning playmaker Jamie Soward - when the rescheduled NRLW season kicks off in February.
Tonegato's acquisition comes after the Dragons lost Isabelle Kelly and Jess Sergis to the Roosters and Tiana Penitani switched to be a part of the maiden Parramatta NRLW squad.
The Dragons still have an impressive roster with Papua New Guinea prop Elsie Albert, new recruit Shontelle Stowers and NSW back-rower Kezie Apps on board as they aim to avoid back-to-back wooden spoons.

Eric

Staff
OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALIST JOINS RED V

The Dragons have bolstered their NRLW squad with an Olympic gold medallist ahead of the postponed women’s competition next year.

Australian Rugby 7s star Emma Tonegato has linked up with the Red V for the 2022 season in what will be a return to the sport for the Wollongong junior.